Manage Learn to apply best practices and optimize your operations.

What are the entries in the AFVIOL field?

I have extracted the AF type entries from the journal receiver. I would like to know what the entries in the AFVIOL field are. Apparently there are ones that will prevent us from moving to level 40 (B C D and R); I don't have those, but I do have 'A'. How many are there, and what do they represent?
The exact audit entries that you need to be concerned with to know whether you can move to security level 40 are listed in Chapter 2 of the iSeries Security Reference manual (available from the IBM Information Center www.iseries.ibm.com/infocenter ) or in my book Experts' Guide to OS/400 and i5/OS Security available from Amazon.


The Best Web Links: tips, tutorials and more.

Search400's targeted search engine: Get relevant information on security.

Ask your systems management questions--or help out your peers by answering them--in our live discussion forums.

Check out this Search400.com Featured Topic: Top ten security tips

Visit the ITKnowledge Exchange and get answers to your security questions fast.

Dig Deeper on iSeries system and application security

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.