Q
Manage Learn to apply best practices and optimize your operations.

Preventing a user from using option 4

How can I stop a user from using option 4(delete) on a WRKOUTQ *all screen?

Option 4 from WRKOUTQ runs the DLTOUTQ (Delete OUTQ) command. According to Appendix D in the iSeries Security Reference manual, you need *OBJEXIST to the OUTQ to run the DLTOUTQ command. So while a user may be able to take the option, unless they have *OBJEXIST to the OUTQ or *ALLOBJ special authority, they won't have enough authority to delete the OUTQ and the operation fails with a "not authorized" message.

==================================
MORE INFORMATION ON THIS TOPIC
==================================

The Best Web Links: tips, tutorials and more.

Search400's targeted search engine: Get relevant information on security.

Ask your systems management questions--or help out your peers by answering them--in our live discussion forums.

Check out this Search400.com Featured Topic: Top ten security tips


Dig Deeper on iSeries system and application security

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchDataCenter

Close