Manage Learn to apply best practices and optimize your operations.

Changing security levels

Is there a guide out there that helps with the tasks involved in changing from level 30 security to level 40? Specifically, the reading and understanding of the journal entries? Any information is greatly appreciated.
The iSeries Security Reference manual, Chapter 2 discusses moving between the various security levels. This manual is available via a downloadable .PDF from the IBM Info Center. My new book, Experts' Guide to OS/400 and i5/OS Security has information on moving between the security levels. It is available from The Learning Center. I wrote a Security Patrol article on the topic and that is available from here. Finally, the product available from my company, SkyView Risk Assessor for OS/400 and i5 available here, produces step-by-step instructions for you to follow when it detects that the system is at security level 20 or 30.


The Best Web Links: tips, tutorials and more.

Search400's targeted search engine: Get relevant information on security.

Ask your systems management questions--or help out your peers by answering them--in our live discussion forums.

Check out this Search400.com Featured Topic: Top ten security tips

Dig Deeper on iSeries system and application security

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.