Q
Manage Learn to apply best practices and optimize your operations.

Changing from level 30 to 40

Some time ago I was involved with a software developer who had a customer go from level 30 to level 40 security. By doing this *PUBLIC was changed from *CHANGE to *EXCLUDE. They stated that all they did was change the security level. Do you know if anyone has experienced this happening under more recent operating system releases? This had happen somewhere around 3.6.

When you migrate from QSECURITY level 30 to 40, there is no automatic change that would modify your QCRTAUT from *CHANGE to *EXCLUDE. Someone likely did this either programmatically or manually. You can safely make the step up without concern for this system value changing.

However, if your default QCRTAUT is still set at *CHANGE, you should consider a separate project to tighten this security exposure as well.

==================================
MORE INFORMATION ON THIS TOPIC
==================================

The Best Web Links: tips, tutorials and more.

Search400's targeted search engine: Get relevant information on security.

Ask your systems management questions--or help out your peers by answering them--in our live discussion forums.

Check out this Search400.com Featured Topic: Top ten security tips


Dig Deeper on iSeries system and application security

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchDataCenter

Close