Q
Evaluate Weigh the pros and cons of technologies, products and projects you are considering.

When is the YES option for 'reuse deleted files' function the best choice?

IBM did not change the default of the reuse deleted files function to YES for physical files in order to minimize the impact on any existing applications that may have dependencies on deleted records that are not being used. However, there there are many customers who use and benefit from the reuse of deleted records.

If choosing theYES option for the reused deleted records function on a packet filter (PF) is so beneficial, why is it not the default setting when creating a physical file?
Actually the default was changed indirectly since DB2 for iSeries ceates all SQL tables with the "reuse deleted records" function set to *YES. So there are a lot of IBM iSeries customers using and benefitting from the reuse of deleted records.

The reason IBM did not change the default for physical files to yes was to minimize impacting any existing applications that may have dependencies on deleted records that are not being reused.

Specific situations where the reuse of deleted records might cause a different behavior are documented in the IBM InfoCenter.
This was last published in June 2009

Dig Deeper on DB2 UDB (universal databases)

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchDataCenter

Close