Ask the Expert

Killing option 21 backup midsave

Not sure if this has ever been addressed and probably sure this is a backup sin.

What happens to the os and files if the option 21 command is used to backup a system and then you have to end/kill the process in the middle of the saves in restricted state?

Nothing will happen to the original files on disk. However, your SAVSYS tape will be worthless from a recovery point of view. You would have to restart your SAVSYS process from the beginning and create a new tape.

This was first published in April 2008

There are Comments. Add yours.

 
TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: